Cow Patties

One of the first time J.D. took me to meet his family, his mom made us cow patties. J.D. used to eat these a lot when he was little and every once in a while he really craves them. I am notoriously bad at keeping track of recipes (and mailing addresses) because they’re always texted to me and I always forget to screenshot the information. So, everytime I need to send out cards or make these cookies, I have to ask J.D.’s mom. In an attempt to never bother her about this recipe again, here it is… But, of course I had to text her before I blogged this. It’s the last time, I swear.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, unsalted
  • 2 c. sugar
  • ½ c. milk
  • ¼ c. cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ c. peanut butter, chunky
  • 3 c. rolled oats

Directions: Melt butter in medium pot. Add sugar, milk and cocoa and bring to a boil. Cook for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and add oats, peanut butter and vanilla. Mix well and drop heaping spoonfuls on a wax paper lined cookie sheet. Let harden.

There have been a few times when we’ve tried to make these and they didn’t come out. We don’t know exactly what went wrong but it must have something to do with the chemistry of the ingredients… Or maybe we are too lazy to watch the clock for 2 minutes while they’re on the stove. But, even if they don’t harden, they’re still delicious if you have to eat them with a spoon. And I suppose they’re pretty healthy… I mean there are oats in them!

 

Leave a Reply

