The Vomitorium

Bean got sick on Friday. Not with a fever, like usual… But with projectile vomiting and explosive diarrhea. Joy. 

Surprisingly this is the first time, in his almost three years alive, that he’s had any sort of symptoms other than being a bit warm, so I was woefully unprepared. 

Luckily he uses the potty for his poop emergencies but the vomit… Oh, the vomit! 

He puked on the living room floor. He puked on himself while sitting on J.D. He puked at the gym while watching J.D. play at an alumni basketball game. He puked at not one, but TWO restaurants.

When we got home last night, J.D. started his round of projectile vomiting. All night. Which means everyone was tired this morning at mass. 

The good thing is, I now have a plan in place for events of mass vomit. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this earlier… 

When I was in the hospital having Belle, one of the nurses made sure I packed a blue plastic barf bag. She said they’re awesome for on-the-go barfing because the opening is rigid.

Last night while I was up listening to J.D. barf, I remembered the blue bag and started trying to mentally locate it… I couldn’t quite remember at 3:00 am where I had put it but I came with with an alternative system using an embroidery hoop and a zip bag! Just mount the bag in the inner hoop and tighten the outer hoop. Ta-da!! 

Leave a Reply

