Bastardized Bruschetta 

Y’all, the best thing we ate while we were in Rome was the bruschetta! I started craving it the instant we arrived home. It was so delicious and a million times better than any “bruschetta” I’ve had in America.

It’s a bit more involved than my edamame recipe but it was pretty damned simple since I used cheater garlic, processed cheese and pre-sliced Italian bread.

Ingredients:

  • 6 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tsp. garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. vinegar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • ¼ c. Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 1 loaf Italian bread, sliced

Directions: Dice tomatoes combine first seven ingredients into a large bowl. Mix well and refrigerate for at least an hour.

To prepare the bread, pour a little olive oil on a plate and lightly dip one side of each slice of bread before placing it face down on a baking sheet. Brush the other side with a little bit of the juice from bottled garlic. Bake for 6 minutes at 450°.

That’s it! Once the bread is done, chow down. I made 15 slices of bread and we ate every single slice. It wasn’t exactly authentically Italian but it did hit the spot.
Just to let y’all know, J.D. hasn’t stopped making fun of me for my edamame recipe, but in my defense, I never cook. Lol. He should be happy I started trying to feed Bean things outside of my usual microwaved repertoire. Just saying…

Leave a Reply

