Magnetic Needle Holder

Two days ago, I almost went crazy because I dropped my needle while I was sewing in bed while the kids napped. I had to sneakily crawl around on the floor and run my hands across the carpet, hoping that it didn’t stab me in the hand.

I looked for 20 minutes until I determined that I definitely didn’t drop it on the floor. So, I had to carefully untuck Belle’s sleeping body so I could check the bed and the blanket… Sure enough, it was sticking out of the blanket about two inches from her chubby little thigh.

Ugh, I’m the worst.

I’ve seen a lot of people in my quilting groups use these little magnetic needle minders and after the frantic search for that tiny needle, I finally see the benefit of these trinkets.

My issue is that [1] I hate the name of these “needle minders,” and [2] I haven’t seen any that are my style.

As you can see from the title of this post, I solved my first issue, and as I was showing my brother-in-law how to troubleshoot the button maker we both have, I solved my second issue, as well!

For this project, I used:

  • Button Maker & Blanks
  • Fabric Scraps
  • Magnets
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Scissors

First, I trimmed my fabric scrap so it would fit in my button maker.

Then, I put the metal button blank in my machine and layered it with the fabric circle and a Mylar circle and then pressed it like I would with a regular pin.

I added the plastic button back, without the pin closure and then then hot glued a magnet on the plastic backing.

So simple! Just put one magnetic button on the front side of your project and one on the back. That’s it!

No more stray needles searching for a chubby thigh to puncture. Just put a magnet on either side of your project, and your needle keeper is ready to use.

I can’t believe that I never thought about making button magnets! I love how versatile this project has made my button maker!
The ceramic magnets that I used this time worked out pretty well but I’m going to try and find a magnet that is lower profile to make these needle keepers perfect.

Also, can I just gush about how cute this Pokémon cross stitch pattern is turning out?!

Leave a Reply

