Cherry Lychee Ice Cream

I don’t know if y’all know this but, for the last few years, my dad’s most favorite activity has been buying treats for Bean. They go on shopping adventures pretty regularly, and if nobody’s there to monitor them, they go nuts and come back with 100 lollipops and a metric ton of fruit.

Watching them shop together is probably the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen. It always starts with Bean telling me that he’s “going on an adventure with Ah-Gong,” and then telling my dad, “Let’s go to a store. Let’s go shopping.”

Once they get there, my dad will ask Bean if he wants a certain item and Bean will typically respond, “Let’s just buy it.”

Well, this weekend Bean discovered lychee fruit, which he thought were giant strawberries, at first glance. My dad couldn’t resist getting him a huge bag for him to try.

Which leads me to our next popcicle recipe — lychee cherry!

Weird, right? Well those are the two fruits that we have an abundance of at the moment, and surprisingly, they go super well together!

Just a note… When your food processor says there’s a capacity limit, trust them. It’s not a suggestion and it’s not a dare. Next time, I am definitely going to cut the recipe in half because after filling all the popcicle molds, I still had 3 cups of ice cream mix leftover and a huge mess to clean up. Lesson learned.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. lychee, pitted
  • 1 ½ c. cherries, pitted
  • ¼ c. water
  • ¼ c. sugar
  • 2 c. heavy whipping cream
  • 1 c. sweetened condensed milk

Directions: Before doing anything, I soaked the popcicle sticks because some people who reviewed my popsicle mold said that soaking the sticks would make removing the pops from the mold easier. Nope. Not true.

These popcicles take a bit longer to prep because you have to spend a bit of time removing the pits from all the cherries and lychee.

Once all the pits are removed, combine the cherries, water and sugar in a saucepan and bring it to a boil. Then, simmer for 15 minutes. Let cool.

While the cherries are simmering, whip the condensed milk and the cream together until it’s light and fluffy. Martha Stewart suggested using an electric mixer but I didn’t want to get out another kitchen tool, so tried a little short cut and used my food processor. It took about 5 minutes, but it worked out.

Add the lychee and cherries, with the syrup and pulse to roughly chop and incorporate the fruit into the mixture.

Pour into molds and freeze overnight.

As I said, this recipe, as is, makes about 4 cups of ice cream and I made a bit of a mess with my food processor because I overloaded it.

I had a bit of trouble getting these popcicles out of the mold. There are three factors that may have made this task harder than with the mango-lime popsicles.

First, it could be the cream. I’m not sure if a creamsicle would freeze and release differently than a pure fruit popcicle. Second, I soaked the popsicle sticks before inserting them in the mold, which probably made them expand and then they shrank in the freezer, which made them less secure in the mixture. And third, I *think* I remember rinsing the mold quickly before filling them, just as an instinct which might have made the mixture freeze more solidly onto the molds.

Anyway, I’ll just have to experiment with this recipe a bit more because J.D. said it was only a 8.5 out of 10, but since I’m the one who made it, I’m sure he was being generous in his grading. He said it would’ve been a 9 out of 10 if it was just pure cherry.

ah-gong [阿公] ¹grandfather, grandpa; ²adventure buddy

Leave a Reply

