Cucumber, Tomato & Avocado Salad

Last week, our neighbors gave us three cucumbers that they grew in their backyard and they are the hugest cucumbers that I’ve ever seen. They’re actually a bit uncomfortable to look at. The next day, my dad brought us six vine-ripened tomatoes because he said they were too pretty to pass up. Of course, we had to go out and grab some avocados and mix up an easy little salad. 

I decided to try my hand at a homemade dressing. But for next time, I gotta do some more research because it wasn’t amazing. I think I’m missing something like honey, or something. Or, I’ll stick with the bottled dressing from Olive Garden. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 large cucumber, diced
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 avocado, diced
  • ½ red onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • ½ c. olive oil
  • ½ c. Parmesan cheese, grated
  • ¼ c. red wine vinegar
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. pepper

Directions: To make the dressing, combine lemon juice, olive oil and vinegar in a mason jar.

Add Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Shake to combine and refrigerate.

For the salad, I started by peeling the cucumbers and scooping out the seeds, since the neighbors said that they were hard to chew. I typically don’t take out the guts because they’re my favorite part.

Then, dice all the veggies and mix.

Add the dressing right before serving.

I think the appearance of the giant cucumbers has to be a sign from the universe that it’s time to start watching my diet again, since this cucumber salad is usually my go-to diet meal. So yummy. 

Leave a Reply

