Making Your Own Cross Stitch Pattern

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making my own cross stitch pattern. Since all the stuff from my upcoming POMEmag giveaway arrived in the mail, I decided to make the POMEmag logo my first attempt.

Does anyone remember doing these grid drawings as a kid?

Processed with MOLDIV

Image Source: ActivityVillage.co.uk

I remember doing these in second or third grade. Our teacher would take the picture on the left and then give each kid a square they would be responsible for reproducing. I think it was a lesson in graphing and working together, or something.

Anyway, I tried to use this method to make my cross stitch pattern.

I printed the image on a sheet of graph paper and then worked on transcribing the logo.

The hardest part was deciding the scale and how to translate partial squares.

After a couple of restarts, I think I did it!

I’m going to be testing the pattern next week, and if all goes well, the POMEmag ladies can expect this baby to arrive at their office soon!

Now, to figure out a good way to digitize this pattern…

3 responses to “Making Your Own Cross Stitch Pattern

  1. Pingback: Digitizing Cross Stitch Patterns | The Bean & The Belle·

  2. Pingback: Digitizing Cross Stitch Patterns | The Bean & The Belle·

  3. Pingback: Single Mom Life & To Do List | The Bean & The Belle·

Leave a Reply

