December Really Got Away From Me…

J.D. has been pushing me to buy a domain for the blog and open an Etsy shop, but after getting swamped with life and only posting a couple of times this month, I probably don’t need the pressure of paying to host my own site. Hahaha. 

But I have been getting stuff done… 

We finally got Belle’s birthday portraits done and we were only a few months late. 

Image Credit: JCP Portrait Studio

She did not trust the photographer at all and really wanted to be left alone, but the photos came out pretty cute anyway. 

I did my first vendor market since college and it was super awkward and a little stressful because I have a little bit of a hard time talking to strangers.

But, I sold a couple pieces and had some genuine conversations with some people so overall, it was an awesome experience. 

I finally finished our Christmas card and they should arrive this week and I should be able to get them in the mail pretty quickly. 

I had to choose a ‘Happy New Year’ card this year instead of a ‘Merry Christmas’ or ‘Happy Holidays’ card because I couldn’t find a layout that matched the cards from previous years. 

The babies visited with Santa and Bean was not scared at all. He chatted with Santa for a really long time and asked specifically for a “Tonight Before Christmas hat with Jack Skeleton on it that’s black and white.” I’m pretty sure Santa knew what he meant. 

Image Credit: Celebrate Your Holiday

Bean was practicing to also ask for “a book for his baby sister to read with her friends” but he sort of forgot and now whenever he sees a Santa, he makes sure to shout the request at them. We have to bring them to Bass Pro this week to make sure Santa heard him so Belle isn’t left out. 

I’ve been debating whether or not to open an Etsy shop. Even though J.D. thinks it’s a no-brainer, I have a hard time investing time into anything that’s out of my comfort zone. But after a couple days of going back and forth, I decided to open a shop but not through Etsy. 

Here’s why…

Image Source: Etsy.com

It costs $0.20 to list an item for 4 months. Once you sell the item, Etsy takes a 3.5% sales fee and then another 3% + $0.30 payment fee on the price of the item and shipping costs. Ack… so that means that if I sell a $20 item, I’ll be paying Etsy almost $2.50. I could offset that by raising the price of my item but it’s just too much math and the new price isn’t reflective of how much I value my product. Also, I tried to set up one listing and there were so many questions to answer about shipping and dimensions and return policies and I got super overwhelmed. Haha. 

Anyway, I researched a couple of other platforms but all of them have a monthly membership fee that I can’t justify because I don’t think I’ll really sell anything. 

But, I did stumble upon Square Market! J.D. convinced me to get a Square credit card reader for the vendor fair and they also happen to offer online vendor spaces for free! 

Image Source: Square.com

All it costs is 2.9% + $0.30 for each actual sale. So for the same $20 item, Square would take less than $1. And if I don’t sell anything, it’s not a big deal because I won’t have to invest a lot of time or money to launch the shop. I’m planning on launching in January and I’m pretty excited for it to just be out there. 

Other than all that, I’ve been buying, packing and wrapping Christmas gifts, scheduling family time and all the other regular Mom responsibilities that come with the holiday season… You might not hear from me until the new year. 

Featured Image: Image credit to Getty Images

Leave a Reply

